top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

Revision Tips for my future panicking self…


As us students are getting closer to exams this year, I have found myself changing my revision strategies and finding methods that have been helping me and ensuring I’m working in an efficient and smart way.

I know that in the future whilst at university or wherever I end up, I will have a time of panic where I start to come close to exams and forget how to revise and learn in ways which suit me; so here are a few ways in which I am currently revising and hopefully they save myself, and maybe others, now and in the future.


1. Find a place where you work well and feel comfortable AND productive!

This is my most recent revelation. Where I am doing most of my work and revision has changed a lot in the last year. Working at home has become too comfortable and I started to find myself easily drifting and therefore getting very little done. My new favourite place to work is the Central Library in Sheffield. It is so peaceful and has other productive and working people in there to almost force you into that productive mindset that is so positive during stressful exam seasons. I also like to do more relaxed and casual work in coffee shops, especially Mango Bean on Division Street (they do a coffee called the Nutty Irishman and it’s really delicious!).

2. Don’t place such importance on making reams of notes!

Do more exam questions! They’re the most accurate representation of what is encountered during the actual exams. And yes, make notes and learn the content that has to be learnt, but really condense it down so the facts and methods can be used in exam questions.

3. Figure out types of questions that are asked frequently and create and answer that will get marks every time!

By doing as many past paper questions as possible, you begin to see types of questions which turn up more than others, or questions whose answers are very similar and require certain answers to gain marks. Always read the mark schemes of question papers thoroughly and read through the examiner’s reports to see where common mistakes occur. Learning from your own and other’s mistakes is one of the best ways of correction and self-improvement!

4. Make sure you take time to do nothing!

And I mean absolutely nothing! Or at least close to nothing… Take a nap if you’re tired (within reason obviously!), take a break if you need it, read that book if you have the time! Make sure you put you first because when you’re happy and healthy, productivity increases.

5. Just do your best!

No-one can ask for any more. Be the best you can be and don’t compare yourself to anyone else. The only person you can compare yourself to is yourself. And if things don’t seem to improve, don’t dwell on it but work on it. Realise what is needed to improve and go do it!


These methods have been helping me a lot, but clearly everyone is different. If these things don’t work, try new stuff and you’ll find something that does. Just keep going, it’ll be over soon!

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Exciting Times Begin...

In a spur of the moment thing, I have decided to start writing a blog about my life and the start of it's next chapter. This year I will be moving away for the first time in my life as I head off to u

bottom of page